The Tarot Cards

The 78 tarot cards are divided into 22 Major Arcana and 56 Minor Arcana. The Minor cards are then subdivided into the suits of Swords, Wands, Cups, and Pentacles. For each list, you will find simplified meanings drawn from both the “official” Rider-Waite-Smith deck as well as my own interpretations. As you work with your tarot cards, you should find yourself deviating from these meanings and developing your own.


The Fool to The World

The Universal and the Archetypal


Suit of Swords

Intellect, Power, Logic, and Action

Suit of Wands

Wisdom, Inspiration, Creativity, and Growth

Suit of Cups

Emotion, Connection, Expression, and Relationships

Suit of Pentacles

The Material, Labor, Manifestation, and Form